a little something of everything

The IT Journey – Part 1

I am a graduate of philosophy and I am tired of thinking or reasoning out trying to formulate better questions other than obvious things I usually encounter. I do appreciate real philosophers who have helped transform the lives of so many human beings in their quest for meaningful human life. Nonetheless, to summarize what I have learned from so many of them thinkers (the ones I do understand leaving the rest for the geniuses of whom I know a few), it’s always good to appreciate the beauty of each present moment. The past has been good and the future looks brighter but what really concerns me is the way I live my life now.

I love tinkering with my computer. I can install software into it and when it slows down, I can simply perform diagnostics and fix the problem. This fascination originated from my daydreams of being a computer hacker. But as soon as reality check comes in, I always find out that I am too far behind today’s great hackers who truly understand computers. I just know what to do with their created programs but creating one of my own is completely a different thing. At one point I was really fascinated by a student who created a sort of Youtube Instant Search inspired by Google’s Instant Search in just a few minutes. I don’t even understand what API means and I don’t even know how to create my own website from the scratch with its own database and all the technical jargons IT people are talking about. However, I do know my way in the blogosphere.

There is so much in computers that I want to know. How it interacts with each other through numbers and bits of data flowing from cables and radio waves. Gadgets are simply hardware with bits of software installed enabling it to talk to each other and to the user all at the same time. The online world is growing exponentially and I am just curious what’s going to happen in a few years. Nowadays, I don’t have to go to the bank to pay my bills or go to a shop to buy some stuff, I only need my credit card and with a few intelligent clicks I get what I want and they just come right in front of my door. The convenience of mobile computing is so great that I don’t even have to move out of my seat to do so many things. But the scary part is, where are all these things take place? That is one question I want to answer.

Leave a comment